# Visual regression testing pricing, compared

> Free tiers, entry plans and overage prices of Percy, Chromatic, Applitools, Happo, Lost Pixel and Snapvisor, each with its source and check date.

Source: https://snapvisor.io/visual-regression-testing-pricing

Pricing data

The free plan, entry plan and extra-usage price of each hosted visual regression testing service, read from the vendor's own pricing page. Every vendor's figures link their source and the date they were checked.

Last checked 2026-10-30. List prices in USD as each vendor publishes them; taxes and negotiated discounts are not included.

## At a glance

| Tool | Bills by | Free plan | Entry paid plan | Extra usage |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Snapvisor | screenshot | $0 a month, 7,000 screenshots | Pro, from $9 a month, 15,000 screenshots included | Usage-based beyond the included screenshots ([pricing](https://snapvisor.io/pricing)) |
| Percy (BrowserStack) | screenshot | $0 a month, 5,000 screenshots a month, unlimited users | Desktop, $199 a month, billed annually, 10,000 screenshots a month | $0.036 a screenshot beyond the plan (Desktop) |
| Chromatic | snapshot | $0 a month, 5,000 snapshots a month, Chrome only | Starter, $179 a month, 35,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Edge | $0.008 a snapshot beyond the plan (Starter) |
| Applitools | checkpoint | No free plan listed | Starter, $667 a month, billed annually, 100,000 component checkpoints or 1,000 page checkpoints | Not listed |
| Happo | snapshot | $0 a month, 5,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, paused at the limit | Starter, $149 a month, 50,000 snapshots a month in Chrome and Firefox | $0.006 a snapshot beyond the plan (Starter) |
| Lost Pixel | screenshot | $0 a month, 7,000 screenshots a month | Startup, $100, billing period not stated, 40,000 screenshots | Not listed |

The [screenshot calculator](https://snapvisor.io/tools/screenshot-calculator) turns pages, viewports, browsers and builds into a monthly count and prices it on Snapvisor, Percy, Chromatic and Applitools.

## Every published plan

Snapvisor: Free at $0 a month, 7,000 screenshots; Pro, from $9 a month, 15,000 screenshots included, with usage beyond that and a 14-day Pro trial. The full plan list is on the [pricing page](https://snapvisor.io/pricing).

### Percy (BrowserStack)

- **Free**: $0 a month. 5,000 screenshots a month, unlimited users.
- **Desktop**: $199 a month, billed annually. 10,000 screenshots a month; then $0.036 a screenshot.
- **Desktop, billed monthly**: $249 a month. 10,000 screenshots a month.
- **Desktop, 25,000 screenshots**: $449 a month, billed annually. 25,000 screenshots a month; then $0.036 a screenshot.
- **Desktop, 25,000 screenshots, billed monthly**: $549 a month. 25,000 screenshots a month.
- **Desktop & Mobile**: $599 a month, billed annually. 25,000 screenshots a month, real mobile devices and mobile browsers; then $0.048 a screenshot.

Unlimited users on every plan. Source: [Percy pricing (BrowserStack)](https://www.browserstack.com/pricing?product=percy), checked 2026-10-30. [Feature comparison](https://snapvisor.io/compare/percy) · [Migration guide](https://snapvisor.io/docs/migrate-from-percy)

### Chromatic

- **Free**: $0 a month. 5,000 snapshots a month, Chrome only.
- **Starter**: $179 a month. 35,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Edge; then $0.008 a snapshot.
- **Pro**: $399 a month. 85,000 snapshots a month, custom domain.
- **Enterprise**: custom pricing. Customizable snapshots, SSO, SLA.

Unlimited projects and users on every plan. TurboSnap snapshots count less toward usage. Source: [Chromatic pricing](https://www.chromatic.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-30. [Feature comparison](https://snapvisor.io/compare/chromatic) · [Migration guide](https://snapvisor.io/docs/migrate-from-chromatic)

### Applitools

- **Starter**: $667 a month, billed annually. 100,000 component checkpoints or 1,000 page checkpoints.
- **Professional**: custom pricing. Customizable, starts at 150 active pages / 1,500 components.
- **Enterprise**: custom pricing. Customizable, starts at 350 active pages / 1,500 components.

Unlimited users on every plan. A free trial is offered; its allowance is not listed. Source: [Applitools pricing](https://applitools.com/pricing/), checked 2026-10-30. [Feature comparison](https://snapvisor.io/compare/applitools) · [Migration guide](https://snapvisor.io/docs/migrate-from-applitools)

### Happo

- **Free**: $0 a month. 5,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, paused at the limit.
- **Starter**: $149 a month. 50,000 snapshots a month in Chrome and Firefox; then $0.006 a snapshot.
- **Growth**: $399 a month. 150,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, Firefox and Safari; then $0.006 a snapshot.
- **Pro**: $749 a month. 300,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, Firefox, Safari, iOS Safari and Edge; then $0.006 a snapshot.
- **Enterprise**: custom pricing. Every browser, with security controls.

No per-seat charge on any plan. Annual billing available. Source: [Happo pricing](https://happo.io/pricing), checked 2026-10-30. [Migration guide](https://snapvisor.io/docs/migrate-from-happo)

### Lost Pixel

Its site carries a notice that the team is joining Figma and sunsetting the product.

- **Free**: $0 a month. 7,000 screenshots a month.
- **Startup**: $100, billing period not stated. 40,000 screenshots.
- **Business**: $250, billing period not stated. 100,000 screenshots.
- **Scale**: $670, billing period not stated. 300,000 screenshots.

Unlimited collaborators on the free plan. Source: [Lost Pixel pricing](https://www.lost-pixel.com/pricing), checked 2026-10-30. [Feature comparison](https://snapvisor.io/compare/lost-pixel) · [Migration guide](https://snapvisor.io/docs/migrate-from-lost-pixel)

## Reading the numbers

A free plan sized in snapshots is not the same allowance as one sized in screenshots or checkpoints, and capturing more browsers or viewports multiplies the count. Price the volume your suite really produces, and check whether a plan pauses at its limit or bills the overage. For every tool, including those without hosted pricing, the [alternatives hub](https://snapvisor.io/alternatives) links the comparison and the migration guide.

[Start free](https://app.snapvisor.io/signup) with 7,000 screenshots a month, no card to start.

## Visual regression testing pricing FAQ

### Which visual regression testing tool has the biggest free plan?

Snapvisor Free includes 7,000 screenshots a month. On the other vendors' pricing pages: Percy (BrowserStack), 5,000 screenshots a month, unlimited users; Chromatic, 5,000 snapshots a month, Chrome only; Applitools, no free plan listed; Happo, 5,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, paused at the limit; Lost Pixel, 7,000 screenshots a month. The units differ, so compare them at your own volume.

### What is the cheapest paid plan for visual regression testing?

Snapvisor Pro starts at $9 a month with 15,000 screenshots included, then usage. The entry paid plans listed by the others, lowest first: Lost Pixel Startup at $100, billing period not stated (40,000 screenshots); Happo Starter at $149 a month (50,000 snapshots a month in Chrome and Firefox); Chromatic Starter at $179 a month (35,000 snapshots a month in Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Edge); Percy (BrowserStack) Desktop at $199 a month, billed annually (10,000 screenshots a month); Applitools Starter at $667 a month, billed annually (100,000 component checkpoints or 1,000 page checkpoints).

### Are screenshots, snapshots and checkpoints the same thing?

Not quite. Each vendor bills by its own unit, named on its pricing page: Percy (BrowserStack) counts screenshots, Chromatic counts snapshots, Applitools counts checkpoints, Happo counts snapshots, Lost Pixel counts screenshots, and Snapvisor counts screenshots. How a test, browser or viewport turns into one unit differs between vendors, so price the volume your suite really produces.

### How current are these prices?

Each vendor's figures show the date its pricing page was last read, with a link to that page. A figure that cannot be found on its source page again is removed rather than kept, and a price a vendor quotes only on request is shown as custom pricing, never estimated.

## Related pages

Guides [How visual regression testing works](https://snapvisor.io/visual-regression-testing) [Self-hosted visual regression testing](https://snapvisor.io/self-hosted-visual-regression-testing) [Visual regression testing in GitHub pull requests](https://snapvisor.io/visual-regression-testing-github) [Snapvisor MCP server](https://snapvisor.io/mcp)

Test runner and CI setup [Playwright visual testing setup](https://snapvisor.io/playwright) [Storybook visual testing setup](https://snapvisor.io/storybook) [Cypress visual testing setup](https://snapvisor.io/cypress) [Puppeteer visual testing setup](https://snapvisor.io/puppeteer) [Visual regression testing in GitLab CI](https://snapvisor.io/gitlab-ci)

Compare Snapvisor [Snapvisor vs Percy](https://snapvisor.io/compare/percy) [Snapvisor vs Chromatic](https://snapvisor.io/compare/chromatic) [Snapvisor vs Applitools](https://snapvisor.io/compare/applitools) [Snapvisor vs Argos](https://snapvisor.io/compare/argos) [Snapvisor vs Lost Pixel](https://snapvisor.io/compare/lost-pixel) [Snapvisor vs Playwright snapshots](https://snapvisor.io/compare/playwright) [Alternatives to other visual testing tools](https://snapvisor.io/alternatives)

Free tools [Image diff tool](https://snapvisor.io/tools/image-diff) [Screenshot calculator](https://snapvisor.io/tools/screenshot-calculator)
